carnivore FAQ’s

Here’s a totally shocking fact for most people…. yesterday marked 10 weeks of Carnivore eating, which means I haven’t eaten even ONE vegetable in 10 weeks. I’m going to answer some of the common questions I hear for you today.

You aren’t eating ANY vegetables? Aren’t you worried about the lack of nutrients?

No. While vegetables carry a wide variety to micronutrients, they are also heavily laden with toxins in the form of pesticides, herbicides, fertilizers, etc. that interfere with the body’s ability to absorb them as well as disrupting other important functions in the body. I’m also not purchasing solely grass fed meat. Here’s the analogy- picture a barrel, with all of the toxic load our body has to manage daily. There’s a threshold it can take, but if it becomes too much and spills over the top, that’s where problems occur. Removing all of the toxic load that comes along with the vegetables I was eating, creates quite a lot of space! The non-grass fed is minimal for the body to detox in comparison.

Ok, but what about, you know… the lack of fibre 💩

Also NOT an issue. Proper gut motility needs either Fibre OR Fat to digest properly. Provided you don’t have a major imbalance with gut bacteria, this way of eating has actually shown to improve the culture even more in the absence of sugar and starch which feeds the “bad guys”  Also, protein digestion happens in the stomach, where the bulk is broken down effectively before moving on.

Isn’t eating only meat really expensive?? 💰

Again, not the case, unless you choose to eat a big ribeye 🥩 every day! I’m definitely on the lookout for sales, and we balance the more expensive options with ground beef patties as well. Think about what your plate looks like at dinner time… if you’re eating a healthy diet, it’s hopefully 3/4 non-starchy veggies, 1/4 protein and 1-2tbsp of healthy fats. My plate is JUST the protein and fat portions. I haven’t really added a whole lot (except butter of my steak and burger!) and I’ve removed 75% of my previous plate load.

What about snacks? If you get mucnchy after dinner, or mid-afternoon, what do you snack on?

You just don’t. When the blood sugar isn’t on a constant roller coaster ride of highs and lows, the cravings just aren’t there! Especially in the evenings, this is a matter of habit more so than necessity. Don’t get me wrong, I was guilty of it too! Especially in the long winter months where curling up on the couch with my girl and a treat sounded way more appealing than skipping the snack and going for a walk! But now that the cravings just aren’t there, and there’s really nothing snacky in the house, it’s not even a struggle anymore.

Hope this helps! If you have any other questions you’d like me to answer, please message me or drop them in the comments! Have a great day!